Cidadania Britanica / British Citizenship

(English version at the end of the page)

British Citizenship

IMG_20151014_142337_edit

Vejo muitos posts sobre Cidadania Britanica e procuro nao comentar porque cada caso eh um caso. Obtive minha cidadania britanica por casamento pois meu marido eh ingles.

As regras do Home Office estao sempre mudando e esse ano nao foi diferente. Em abril de 2015 houveram varias mudancas quanto a valores, requisitos, tempo de moradia etc.

O que relato aqui eh somente baseado na minha experiencia mas espero que algumas dicas possam ser uteis a mais pessoas.

Bom, meu passo a passo desde quando resolvi sair do Brasil foi:

Abril de 2011 – Apliquei para o visto de noiva (na epoca era chamado assim). Apliquei no Rio de Janeiro, em um escritorio de uma empresa que era terceirizada do consulado. Apliquei pessoalmente, levando comigo um dossie (sim, um dossie pois nele haviam todos os documentos da minha vida, traduzidos e tambem todas as evidencias de que eu estava em um relacionamento verdadeiro – cartoes, e-mails trocados, passagens aereas, fotos, you name it).

Tempo de Espera: em um mes recebi um telefonema do consulado Britanico no Rio (em ingles, claro) confirmando o meu visto. Fui buscar meu passaporte com o visto no final de Maio de 2011.

Julho de 2011 cheguei no Reino Unido (meu visto contava de 15 de julho a 15 de janeiro). O Visto de noiva so me dava 6 meses para casar e nao podia trabalhar, nem voluntariado (eu liguei e me informei).

Janeiro de 2012 – Casamos no dia 7 (meu marido eh da marinha mercante e viaja muito, nao conseguimos uma data anterior a essa). Como meu visto estava para vencer, resolvemos aplicar pessoalmente (decisao em 24 horas) para eu poder logo ter permissao para trabalhar.

Janeiro de 2012 – Fomos ao escritorio do Home Office em Sheffield (sim, nao tivemos lua de mel) e meu marido e eu fomos entrevistados juntos (embora nossas perguntas fossem diferentes). Visto concedido. Uma semana depois meu Further Leave to Remain chegou (cartao) com validade de 2 anos.

Setembro de 2013 – Ja sabendo que para o visto de permanencia (Settlement ou Indefinite Leave to Remain) eu precisaria passar no teste Life in the UK (na epoca custou £50) eu agendei, comprei um livrinho com CD-ROM e mock tests, fiz e passei (recomendo o livrinho com os mock tests).

Janeiro de 2014 – Aplicamos para o Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR) pelos correios (pois nao queriamos pagar mais caro e tambem nao tinhamos pressa). O chato eh que eles ficaram com o meu passaporte – o do meu marido bastou copia. No site do UKBA eles dao o prazo maximo de 6 meses para te darem um retorno e no meu caso, o meu demorou exatamente 6 meses. Ufa!

Uma vez de posse do ILR, voce eh residente e nao precisa fazer mais nada – alem de renova-lo a cada 10 anos – se voce nao quiser.

Como nos casamos antes de junho/julho de 2012, pela lei eu poderia aplicar para a cidadania apos 3 anos de casada e foi o que fiz.

Apliquei para a cidadania em Abril de 2015. Apliquei pessoalmente utilizando o NCS (Nationality Checking Service, o que tambem recomendo £80 no meu caso) onde eles verificam todo o seu formulario e documentacao e enviam ao Home Office para voce. Isso foi em meados de abril.

Tempo de Espera: 5 meses cravados!

Setembro de 2015 – recebi uma carta do Home Office dizendo que minha cidadania havia sido aprovada e que minha cerimonia seria em outubro. (Confiram algumas fotos).

DSCN7038

Basingstoke Registry Office (Ceremony venue / local da cerimonia)

IMG_20151014_142409

Certificate / Certificado

IMG_20151014_142431_edit

Part of the National Anthem we had to sing / Parte do hino nacional que tivemos que cantar

IMG_20151014_071131

Getting my citizenship / Recebendo minha cidadania 🙂

Agora meu proximo passo eh fazer o passaporte Britanico que, por ser a primeira vez, pode demorar ate 6 semanas para ficar pronto. Nao vou fazer agora pois depois de todo esse processo vamos tirar umas merecidas ferias e quando voltar, o passaporte sera a primeira coisa que eu vou fazer!

English Version:

British Citizenship

I see and read lots of posts on British Citizenship and I do not comment on them because the process is different for each person. I got my citizenship through marriage as my husband is English.

The Home Office rules keep changing and it has been no different this year. In April 2015 there were a few changes in terms of costs, requirements, length of stay etc.

What I report here is based on my experience ONLY and I hope that some of the tips can be useful to a few readers.

Well, here’s my visa process step-by-step when I decided to leave Brazil:

April 2011 – Applied for a fiancee visa (that’s what it was called back then). Applied for it in Rio de Janeiro, at an office that provided a checking service for the consulate. I applied in person, carrying a massive binder – my dossier with all my life in it: documents, certificates, translations, evidence that I was in a genuine relationship (cards, e-mails, flight tickets, photographs, you name it!).

Waiting time: I got a phone call from the British Embassy in Rio (in English, of course) confirming my visa. I picked up my passport with my visa stamped on it in May 2011.

July 2011 – Arrived in the UK (my visa was issue as of 15th July and expired on 15th January). The fiancee visa is issued for 6 months within which you have to get married. No work was allowed, not even voluntary work (I called the Home Office and was advised).

January 2012 – We got married on the 7th (my husband is a sailor and we did not have any other available dates before that). As my visa was about to expire, we decided to apply for the spouse visa in person – 24-hour decision – so that I could have my work permit straight away.

January 2012 – We went to one of the Offices in Sheffield (yes, no honeymoon for us) and my husband and I were interviewed together. However, our questions were different. Visa was issued. A week later my Further Leave to Remain (card) arrived. Valid for 2 years.

September 2013 – Having checked that I’d need to pass the Life in the UK test for my permanent visa (Settlement or Idefinite Leave to Remain) I booked a test, bought a booklet with a CD-ROM with mock tests and took my test and passed (I strongle recommend the booklet with the mock tests).

January 2014 – Applied for the Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR) by post (we didn’t want to pay extra and we were not in a hurry this time). The annoying thing is that they kept my passport throughout the process – they were happy with my husband’s copy. On the UKBA website they say that the decision can take up to 6 months and that was exactly how long it took me to hear from them. Phew!

Once you get your ILR, you are a resident and you don’t need to do anything else – besides renewing it every 10 years – if you don’t want to.

As we got married before June/July 2012, according to the Home Office I was eligible to apply for British Citizenship after having been married for 3 years and that was what I did.

I applied for citizenship in April 2015. I used the NCS (Nationality Checking Service) in person. I do recommend it because they check if you had filled out your forms correctly and they send your application to the Home Office. This service cost £80. That happened on 14th April.

Waiting time: 5 months!

September 2015 – I got a letter from the Home Office saying that my citizenship had been approved and that my ceremony was booked for mid-October. (check the pics)

Now my next step is the British passport which can take 6 weeks to be ready due to it being my first British passport. I’ve decided not to do it right now as we’re going on holiday but that is my priority when we come back (watch this space!)

About claudiarant

Brazilian-born, British citizen and married to a Brit. I moved to the UK in 2011 and I decided to share my experiences, curiosities, challenges here so I hope you enjoy your reading. I'm an Industrial Designer a Language Teacher and a keen cyclist ;) Nascida no Brasil, cidada Britanica e marido britanico. Me mudei para o Reino Unido em 2011 e decidi compartilhar aqui minhas experiencias, curiosidades e desafios entao espero que curtam a leitura. Sou desenhista industrial e professora de idiomas (Ingles e Portugues para estrangeiros) e ciclismo eh minha nova paixao. View all posts by claudiarant

16 responses to “Cidadania Britanica / British Citizenship

Leave a comment