My 50 km cycle race / Minha corrida de 50 km de bicicleta

IMG_20150920_124045

(Versao em Portugues no final da pagina)

So, if you’ve been reading my blog you probably know that I registered to take part in my first cycling event, the Cycletta. I thought it would be a nice opportunity as cycling is a new hobby for me and so far I love it! Also, it was a charity event and I managed to raise £80 for Bloodwise!

First things first. There were 4 different routes to choose from: 20km, 50km, 100km and 150km. I thought to myself: “since I’ve been covering nearly 20km at the weekends I might as well challenge myself and go for the 50km one”. Simples!

I hard in mind that it would take me nearly 4 hours to complete the route based on my previous cycle rides and I was ok with that.

The event IMG_20150920_072948took place in Beaulieu  in the New Forest and I went there all by myself. First challenge was how to put the bike in the car – which I managed without much hassle. Go Nissan Leaf haha

IMG_20150920_074642

Mooo!

Another challenge was to drive through the forest in thick mist with cows and ponies crossing the roads without notice (Moooooo!).

So, once I got there I noticed that 87,3% of the ladies had state of the art bicycles and gear (from attire to GPS, watches and the works). I was one of the fewest with a mountain bike and an Adidas rucksack (I had to carry all my stuff, didn’t I?).

Anyway, I was in awe of the ladies, who looked much older than me, going for 100km or 150km! I felt I was doing a massive distance but what did I know?

I decided not to think about the others and to focus on myself and my aim was to complete the circuit in less than 4 hours. How did it feel? P-A-I-N-F-U-L!

IMG_20150920_082605

my bike

IMG_20150920_081020

posh bikes

The first half hour for me was the worst (and it’s usually the same with any kind of exercise I do). I could not cycle uphill 5 minutes after the race had started! I simply got off the bike and pushed it. Boy wasn’t that embarrassing… (I definitely need to work on hills, but how?).

To cut a long story short: I was able to complete the race successfully in 3 hours 23 min! I was chuffed to bits! I’m not a fast cyclist but I think I’ve got good endurance. And to think that I had not trained for over 2 weeks before the race makes it even more of an accomplishment.

Will I do that again? Watch this space!

IMG_20150920_133058

My lovely medal

Versao em Portugues:

Entao, se voce tem acompanhado o meu blog voce provavelmente esta sabendo que eu me inscrevi para participar de um evento de ciclismo, o Cycletta. Eu achei que seria uma boa oportunidade ja que ciclismo eh o meu novo hobby e ate agora, estou amando! Alem disso, era um evento beneficente e eu consegui arrecadar £80 para a instituicao Bloodwise!

Vamos por ordem. Haviam 4 rotas diferentes a escolher: 20km, 50km, 100km e 150km. Eu pensei comigo mesma: “ja que tenho percorrido quase 20km nos fins de semana eh melhor eu me desafiar eh encarar os 50km”. Simples!

Eu sabia que levaria quase 4 horas para eu completar o percurso baseado nas minhas pedaladas e eu estava tranquila quanto a isso.

O evento aconteceu em Beaulieu, na New Forest e eu fui sozinha. Meu primeiro desafio foi em como colocar a bicicleta dentro do carro – coisa que consegui sem muito problema. Valeu, Nissan Leaf! haha

Outro desafio foi dirigir pela estrada que corta a floresta com uma nevoa densa e vacas e poneis atravessando a pista (Mooooo!)

Ao chegar la, reparei que 87,3% das mulheres tinham as bicicletas e equipamentos mais modernos possiveis (desde indumentaria – gosto dessa palavra rs – ate GPS, relogios e afins). Eu era uma das poucas com uma mountain bike e uma mochila Adidas (eu tinha que carregar minhas coisas, certo?).

Enfim, eu estava chocada com as mulheres, que pareciam ser bem mais velhas que eu, fazendo o percurso de 100 ou 150km. E eu achava que 50km era uma distancia bem longa. Sabe de nada, inocente hahaha

Decidi nao pensar nas outras e focar apenas em mim mesma e o meu objetivo era de completar a prova em menos de 4 horas. Como foi? D-O-L-O-R-O-SO!

A primeira meia hora foi a pior pra mim (e geralmente eh assim tambem quando faco qualquer outro tipo de exercicio). Eu nao consegui fazer a primeira ladeira 5 minutos apos a largada! Simplesmente sai da bicicleta e empurrei. Cara, foi vergonhoso…(Eu realmente preciso praticar ladeiras, mas como?).

Resumindo: completei a prova com sucesso e meu tempo foi 3 horas e 23 min! Eu fiquei radiante com o resultado! Nao sou uma ciclista rapida mas eu tenho boa resistencia. O fato de eu nao ter treinado as 2 semanas anteriores ao evento me deu uma sensacao maior de dever cumprido.

Farei outra vez? Fiquem atentos!

About claudiarant

Brazilian-born, British citizen and married to a Brit. I moved to the UK in 2011 and I decided to share my experiences, curiosities, challenges here so I hope you enjoy your reading. I'm an Industrial Designer a Language Teacher and a keen cyclist ;) Nascida no Brasil, cidada Britanica e marido britanico. Me mudei para o Reino Unido em 2011 e decidi compartilhar aqui minhas experiencias, curiosidades e desafios entao espero que curtam a leitura. Sou desenhista industrial e professora de idiomas (Ingles e Portugues para estrangeiros) e ciclismo eh minha nova paixao. View all posts by claudiarant

2 responses to “My 50 km cycle race / Minha corrida de 50 km de bicicleta

Leave a Reply

